Broadband

NOTICE: Two Broadband Development Grant Applications are currently under consideration. Learn more here.

Access to high-quality business and residential broadband is essential to developing, growing and attracting businesses, improving academic performance, supporting healthcare, promoting innovation and entrepreneurship, attracting investment, educating the workforce of the future, quality of life, and improving Wyoming’s position as a global competitor.

The Federal Communications Commission has established that “advanced telecommunications capability” requires access to download speeds of at least 25 Mbps and upload speeds of at least 3 Mbps. 

With a quick click on our speed test map, you can help us deliver faster, more reliable broadband access statewide. 

Residents of rural Wyoming areas are limited by access, with an average download speed of just 17 Mbps.

During the 2018 legislative session, Gov. Matt Mead signed into law SEA No. 0036, which handed the Business Council new tools to fulfill that mission. The law provided $10 million to establish a broadband infrastructure grant fund and $350,000 to establish a broadband coordinator position at the Business Council and a Broadband Advisory Council to oversee the agency's efforts.

 

If YOU want to get started bringing better broadband to YOUR community, start here.

 

The Broadband Advisory Council comprises 11 members from different background and different areas throughout the state.

The 11 members are:

Tom Lacock, Associate State Director for AARP Wyoming, Cheyenne
tlacock@aarp.org

Brian Worthen, CEO of Visionary Broadband, Gillette
bworthen@visionarybroadband.com

Zane Logan, City Administrator, Powell
zlogan@cityofpowell.com

Scott Sutherland, USDA Rural Development, Casper
scott.sutherland2@usda.gov

Randy Miller, Cheyenne Regional Medical Center, Cheyenne
randy.miller@crmcwy.org

Lauren Schoenfeld, J.R. Simplot Company, Rock Springs
lingabrand@gmail.com

Patrick Adam Lawson, Northern Arapaho Tribal Industries, Riverton
pat.lawson@windriverinternet.com

Barbara Sessions, Silver Star Communications, Afton
bsessions@silverstar.net

Erik Rasmussen, Charter Communications, Cheyenne
erik.rasmussen@charter.com

Tyler Vasko, Eastern Wyoming College, Torrington
tyler.vasko@ewc.wy.edu

Gordon Knopp, State Chief Information Officer, Cheyenne
cio@wyo.gov

The two legislative liaisons are:

State Rep. Albert Sommers, Pinedale
albert.sommers@wyoleg.gov

State Sen. Dan Dockstader, Star Valley
dan.dockstader@wyoleg.gov